this post was submitted on 02 Sep 2023
392 points (100.0% liked)

196

16822 readers
908 users here now

Be sure to follow the rule before you head out.

Rule: You must post before you leave.

^other^ ^rules^

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us on our matrix channel.

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] v4ld1z@lemmy.zip 7 points 2 years ago (1 children)

Although, you do have to watch out sometime. Egg and fish (sauce) could be used for some dishes without explicitly telling you about that beforehand.

Apparently that is a problem with kimchi, for example, where the animal-derived ingredients are not considered to be part of the "main ingredients", like nappa cabbage or radishes, so they can sometimes be forgotten when asked if it's vegan.

[–] riodoro1@lemmy.world 3 points 2 years ago (1 children)

Yes, same shit with genuine parmesan not being vegetarian because of animal rennet. Lots of cheeses are like this

[–] v4ld1z@lemmy.zip 1 points 2 years ago

Yea or some mozzarella not being vegetarian for the same reason